3 Ways to take this class

Steve is obviously aiming for experience more than anything else. So much so that I’m surprised he even mentions the first and second ways

As a child, I took martial arts classes. I enjoyed them very much.

Once or twice a week, I’d go into our dojo with my friends, and our instructor, who was a really great guy, would tell us to do this and that with our bodies, and we’d comply.

If the instructor was busy, we’d sit idle awaiting new instructions.

I got into martial arts again as an adult. This time, from the moment I went into the dojo, I’d actively try to improve my art the best I can. I’d watch the instructor intently, always thinking and trying to figure out what’s important in what he’s doing. If he’d be busy with somebody else, I would find something I can practice until I get new instructions.

I was investing my time and money in this, so I’d better get the most I can from it!

Similarly, whenever I get one of those wooden or metallic “brain teaser puzzles”, I usually idly toy around with it, examining how its built and which ways it can move. I enjoy this very much, not caring that it’s not what I’m supposed to do with brain teasers. Eventually I’ll have to leave, though, so I’ll take a better look at the puzzle and probably solve it in a few seconds.

I think of it as “learning as a child” and “learning as an adult”. It is as applicable to learning physics or business as it is to learning sports or martial arts. When I instruct courses, I always prequel them with this tale and ask the students to actively participate and not wait for me to feed them material.

Steve is obviously aiming for experience more than anything else. So much so that I’m surprised he even mentions the first and second ways to take his class. It has to be the third. Go out of the building and talk to my clients.

Leave a Reply

